There was party in Tshwane tonight after TUT were crowned Varsity Football champions following their 2-1 victory against UJ in an exciting final played at the TUT Stadium on Thursday.

Jacob Hlalele and Sipho Sibiya made sure that the trophy remains in Tshwane after they failed to win it in Cape Town last year. The game, which was graced by the presence of Tshwane Mayor Solly Msimang, started at a blistering pace with UJ showing early signs of getting the first goal in a bid to silence the home crowd.

After few failed attempts, UJ finally found the back of the net via the boot of Sbongeleni Gamede in the seventh minute after TUT keeper Dumsani Msibi, moved off his line early to allow the striker an easy task to score. TUT had the chance to score a few minutes later but their goal-bound shot was cleared off the line by UJ midfielder, Samuel Warder.

TUT Stadium turned to scenes of jubilation when Jacob Hlalele found the equaliser against the run of play, after meeting a perfect cross on the right flank to throw the match into a more highly-contested affair, and brought the home team into the game. The referee blew the whistle for half time with both teams locked into 1-1 draw.

TUT came back second half with different ideas, with midfielder Godfrey Mohlale a constant threat for the UJ defence. A brilliant Sibiya header proved to be decisive to where the trophy would be heading. He rose above the UJ defence to nod home a beautiful goal, sending the capital city into wild celebration.

TUT held on to their 2-1 lead until the referee blew the final whistle.

FNB Man of the Match: Rorisang Rapelang (TUT)

FNB Player of the Tournament:
 Orapeleng Manopole (CUT)

Golden Boot:
 Jacob Hlalele (TUT)

Golden Glove: Dumisani Msibi (TUT)

 Jacob Hlalele, Sibiya
UJ: Gamede

 Lloyd Morulane, Terrence Mashego, Rorisang Rapelang, Collen Ribabu, Elliot Seema, Sipho Sibiya, Godfrey Mahlale, Jacob Hlalele, Thabang Motau, Sibusiso Ndlovu, Katlego Kgetjepe

Subs: Mdumiseni Zindela, Tlotlo Mothibedi, Thabiso Sibisi, Sakhile Mthembum, Tumelo Mowa, Thatohatsi Santos, Thabang Masiteng

UJ: Mpumelelo Sambo, Lindani Mazibuko, Matthew Edwards, Funnynight Sisimogang, Dane Fortuin, Samuel Warder, Tshepo Tolo, Tebogo Mandyu, Katlego Ntsabeleng, Wade Rowe, Sbongeleni Gamede

Subs: Damaine Van Der Walt, Pogise Mabote, Ruwell Jagger, Sanele Mthethwa, Jared Abrahams, Melusi Mahlaba, , Ntokozo Tshabalala

By Ernest Fakude